(Way) Outside the WSOP (Day 15)

by , Jun 13, 2008 | 6:44 am

Happenings from yesterday with a preview of today’s action::

The two final tables yesterday have been covered enough here so on to the day 2 action. The $5,000 NL Holdem final table is now set for this afternoon under the ESPN360 cameras shortly after 2pm.

Seat 1: Anders Henriksson 311,000
Seat 2: Jacobo Fernandez 848,000
Seat 3: Rajesh Vohra 1,040,000
Seat 4: Ben Sprengers 441,000
Seat 5: Adam Geyer 645,000
Seat 6: Scott Freeman 423,000
Seat 7: Scott Seiver 2,512,000
Seat 8: Chuck Sklar 439,000
Seat 9: Dave Seidman 653,000

More after the jump:

At 3pm, play resumes for the final 16 of the $3,000 HORSE event (Tom Schneider finished in 20th). Plenty of familiar faces remain at these two tables. They’re set up like this:

Table 40

Seat 1: Mickey Appleman 57,500
Seat 2: Hoyt Corkins 220,000
Seat 3: Eric Froehlich 118,000
Seat 4: Paul Zimbler 79,000
Seat 5: Jared Davis 322,500
Seat 6: Jennifer Harman 249,500
Seat 7: Mallory Smith 49,500
Seat 8: JJ Hazen 43,500

Table 41:

Seat 1: Steve Zolotow 144,500
Seat 2: Doug Ganger 245,500
Seat 3: Marcel Luske 350,000
Seat 4: David Levi 36,000
Seat 5: Blair Rodman 161,500
Seat 6: Todd Brunson 124,000
Seat 7: Rostislav Tsodikov 99,000
Seat 8: Jens Voertmann 184,500

The $2,000 NL Holdem event finished the day with 136 moving on to day 2. Dustin Dirksen is the day 1 chip leader. Other chip counts can be found over at The Hendon Mob, home of the best tournament database around.

The $2,500 Pot Limit Holdem/Pot Limit Omaha tournament (and the Brasilia room) made their debuts yesterday with a starting field of 457 down to 85. Stephen McKinney was the Day 1 chip leader, others can be found here.

The two tournaments should each have their own levels of frustration. At noon, the $10,000 NL Holdem Headsup World Championship starts, with a field of 256 expected. Last year, there was controversy as a field of 392 put up $5,000 to participate which would create several people receiving a bye to the second round. This year, they’ve planned to cap the field at 256, we’ll see how that works for the tournament staff.

The 5pm tournament is the $1,500 Razz Event begins, and those who’ve played that game for any period of time knows how it can put just about anyone on tilt. Last year Katja Thater won at a final table that featured Eskimo Clark stroking out in an attempt to get out of getting out of whatever financial hole he was in. Hopefully no one will be that desperate this time around.

Comments are closed.