Poker Bill Passes Committee

One step closer to undoing the UIGEA

by , Sep 16, 2008 | 2:39 pm

Word from the PPA about Barney Frank’s second attempt to pass a bill through his own committee:

(Sports betting looks to be out … but this could also be a pretty simple way to get poker back in …)

Statement by PPA Chairman D’Amato on Passage of H.R. 6870

Washington, D.C. (September 16, 2008) – Former Senator Alfonse D’Amato, chairman of the Poker Players Alliance (PPA), the leading poker grassroots advocacy group with more than one million members nationwide, today issued the following statement upon passage of H.R. 6870, the “Payment System Protection Act,” by the House Financial Services Committee.

“The PPA is pleased that the House Financial Services Committee today recognized the need to provide necessary clarification to what constitutes ‘unlawful Internet gambling’ under the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act (UIGEA) by passing H.R. 6870.

“This bipartisan compromise bill will rightfully advance the UIGEA to become immediately effective for such internet gambling that is clearly unlawful, namely sports betting.  The legislation also appropriately requires a formal rulemaking, overseen by an administrative law judge, to provide the clarification requested by the Department of Treasury and the Federal Reserve, among others, as to the definition of ‘unlawful Internet gambling.’

“Even those who oppose internet gambling should applaud the passage of this legislation as it provides the most realistic opportunity to block truly unlawful internet gambling transactions.

“The PPA congratulates the Republicans and Democrats on the House Financial Services Committee on reaching this strong compromise bill, and we look forward to enactment of this sound public policy during this legislative session.

“We thank Chairman Frank for his continued leadership on this important issue of protecting individual rights and personal responsibility.”

5 Comments to “Poker Bill Passes Committee ”

  1. Kevin Mathers

    It passed 30-19, getting some of the Republicans and Democrats who voted no on the previous legislation.

  2. DanM

    Do you have a roll-call vote list? Am curious to see who voted how … specifically Jeb Hensarling (R-TX).

  3. Kevin Mathers

    Roll Call vote (in progress)
    Hensarling voted no.

  4. DanM

    Interesting … my old congressman (Dist. 5) totally flip-flopped. Here he is in April pretty much calling for all the previsions of this bill — virtually speaking the PPA talking points:

    (about 45s in)

  5. Kevin Mathers

    Here’s the votes of everyone on the Committee:

    Ackerman, Gary (D) — Yes
    Baca, Joe (D) — Yes
    Bachmann, Michele (R) — No
    Bachus, Spencer (R) — No
    Barrett, J. Gresham (R) — No
    Bean, Melissa (D) — Yes
    Biggert, Judy (R) — Yes
    Brown-Waite, Ginny (R) — No
    Campbell, John (R) — No
    Capito, Shelley Moore (R) — No
    Capuano, Michael (D) — Yes
    Carson, Andre (D) — no show
    Castle, Michael (R) — No
    Cazayoux, Don (D) — Yes
    Childers, Travis (D) — no show
    Clay, Wm. Lacy (D) — no show
    Cleaver, Emanuel (D) — Yes
    Davis, Geoff (R) — No
    Davis, Lincoln (D) — no show
    Donnelly, Joe (D) — no show
    Ellison, Keith (D) — Yes
    Feeney, Tom (R) — no show
    Foster, Bill (D) — Yes
    Frank, Barney (D) — Yes
    Garrett, Scott (R) — No
    Gerlach, Jim (R) — Yes
    Green, Al (D) — Yes
    Gutierrez, Luis (D) — Yes
    Heller, Dean (R) — Yes
    Hensarling, Jeb (R) — No
    Hinojosa, Ruben (D) — no show
    Hodes, Paul (D) — no show
    Jones, Walter (R) — No
    Kanjorski, Paul (D) — Yes
    King, Peter (R) — Yes
    Klein, Ron (D) — Yes
    LaTourette, Steven (R) — No
    Lucas, Frank (R) — No
    Lynch, Stephen (D) — Yes
    Mahoney, Timothy (D) — no show
    Maloney, Carolyn (D) — no show
    Manzullo, Donald (R) — no show
    Marchant, Kenny (R) — no show
    McCarthy, Carolyn (D) — no show
    McCarthy, Kevin (R) — Yes
    McCotter, Thaddeus (R) — no show
    McHenry, Patrick (R) — no show
    Meeks, Gregory (D) — No
    Miller, Brad (D) — no show
    Miller, Gary (R) — no show
    Moore, Dennis (D) — Yes
    Moore, Gwen (D) — Yes
    Murphy, Christopher (D) — Yes
    Neugebauer, Randy (R) — no show
    Paul, Ron (R) — no show
    Pearce, Steve (R) — No
    Perlmutter, Ed (D) — Yes
    Price, Tom (R) — no show
    Pryce, Deborah (R) — Yes
    Putnam, Adam (R) — No
    Roskam, Peter (R) — No
    Royce, Ed (R) — No
    Scott, David (D) — No
    Shays, Christopher (R) — Yes
    Sherman, Brad (D) — Yes
    Speier, Jackie (D) — no show
    Velazquez, Nydia (D) — Yes
    Waters, Maxine (D) — Yes
    Watt, Melvin (D) — Yes