Harrah’s Speaks about Jamie Gold

by , Mar 28, 2007 | 11:05 am

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin on this WSOP press release. So does this mean it’s true that in the World Series you can lie about your hand, but not tell the truth?

Reigning World Series Of Poker® Champion Jamie Gold
Won’t Face Retroactive Penalty For Rules Infractions

LAS VEGAS – March 28, 2007 – The World Series of Poker will not penalize reigning WSOP World Champion Jamie Gold for two rules infractions that occurred during the 2006 WSOP Main Event.

In a recent interview with The New York Times, Gold said that in one incident he exposed a hole card to an opponent. He said that in the other incident he told an opponent he held top pair and top kicker after the opponent had bet. While common in cash games, such actions are violations of WSOP tournament rules.

Under the 2006 WSOP rules, Gold would have been subject to a penalty requiring him to sit out 10 minutes of play – if WSOP floor persons had seen either of those incidents when they occurred. The rules for the 2007 WSOP call for a 10-hand rather than 10-minute penalty.

After The New York Times interview was published, senior WSOP officials reviewed video footage and had two conversations with Gold about the incidents. Gold freely acknowledged and expressed contrition for the rules infractions, attributing them to his exuberance and excitement at participating in his first-ever WSOP Main Event.

The WSOP officials determined from the video review and the discussions with Gold that he did not deliberately attempt to violate the rules and that no penalties would be invoked retroactively for the incidents.

“Not only were we impressed with Jamie’s candor and contrition, but we also recognized that tournament officials didn’t witness the incidents or take appropriate action at the time of the rules infractions,” said Jeffrey Pollack, commissioner of the World Series of Poker. “We share culpability in this case and are satisfied that the actions in question were inadvertent mistakes. We look forward to Jamie’s participation in the 2007 WSOP.

“I do want to stress, however, that we do not condone any violations of the rules and will make every effort to enforce them in every WSOP event,” Pollack said.

The 2007 World Series of Poker Presented by Milwaukee’s Best Light will begin June 1 at the Rio® All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. More information on the tournament is available at www.worldseriesofpoker.com .

The WSOP is operated by a subsidiary of Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc. (NYSE:HET). Harrah’s is the world’s largest provider of branded casino entertainment through its operating subsidiaries. Since its beginning in Reno, Nevada, nearly 70 years ago, Harrah’s has grown through development of new properties, expansions and acquisitions, and now owns or manages casinos on four continents. The company’s properties operate primarily under the Harrah’s®, Caesars® and Horseshoe® brand names; Harrah’s also owns the London Clubs International family of casinos. Harrah’s Entertainment is focused on building loyalty and value with its customers through a unique combination of great service, excellent products, unsurpassed distribution, operational excellence and technology leadership.

More information about Harrah’s is available at its Web site — www.harrahs.com .


7 Comments to “Harrah’s Speaks about Jamie Gold”


  1. on tilt
    says:

    didn’t these infractions take place at the final table?

    how is it that half a dozen cameras and millions of people caught it, but the floor missed it when there was only one table to look after?


  2. Short-Stacked Shamus
    says:

    I believe the “card-flashing” incident was at the final table (w/Binger). The other incident (“I said top-top”) was with 3 tables to go, but it was filmed as well (and was incl. in the ESPN broadcast).


  3. DanM
    says:

    Was he heads-up at the time in these two hands? I always operated under the presumption that a lot more was fair game when heads-up. At least it should be, right?


  4. on tilt
    says:

    in a tourny, under no circumstances can you expose your hand with action remaining….even heads up.

    it doesn’t kill the hand, but should recieve a penalty


  5. Short-Stacked Shamus
    says:

    Card-flashing hand occurred when they were three-handed. “Top-top” was with a full table.


  6. DanM
    says:

    yeah, but how many were in the hand? that’s what i was referring to.


  7. Short-Stacked Shamus
    says:

    Oh . . . both were indeed heads-up situations, I believe.