Erick Lindgren Captures 2008 Player of the Year Title

by , Jul 4, 2008 | 3:33 pm

Erick Lindgren

Erick Lindgren

When Event 53 came to an end with Matt Graham capturing the $1500 LHE Shootout bracelet on the morning of Thursday, July 3, the 2008 World Series of Poker Player of the Year race ended, as the main event doesn’t count for points. And out in front of the POY leader board was Erick Lindgren. He was ten points ahead of Barry Greenstein, and E-Dog’s five cashes (one of which was a bracelet) and $1,348,528 in winnings this summer added up to the win.

It was announced yesterday that Lindgren officially captured the title. Congratulations!

The entire list of players in contention for the 2008 WSOP POY race can be found here.

4 Comments to “Erick Lindgren Captures 2008 Player of the Year Title”

  1. Sidney Lane

    What do you win for being player of the year?

  2. Kevin Mathers

    Last year, Tom Schneider won a buyin to the 2008 WSOP Main Event, the 2007 WSOP Europe Main Event, and a WSOP Circuit Main Event of his choice along with $5,000 for travel expenses.

    Erick should receive something similiar.

  3. California Jen

    They will likely announce the gifts and present Lindgren with them later in the main event… Last year, they did the presentation to Tom during the final table, but since that’s not until November this year, I’m not sure when they’ll do it.

  4. DanM

    And actually, Tom was able to negotiate with his $40kish of goodies. He didn’t play in WSOP-E, so they applied that amount of money to a bunch of circuit events. And he had one more $5k circuit event to go, and they applied that money to his HORSE buy-in this year.

    The first part was easy, I’m sure, the second part a pain in the WSOP’s ass, because they get no extra benefit from it.